Adedolapo Olisa
2 min readMar 28, 2021

A lonely Yale Night

The night is young

So am I,

Though my knees differ

But I still taste chai.

The bells are long

So I am not,

Briskly moving Yale ding dongs

It’s downtown in New Haven

I’m lonely in my friends home

Lonely in my own abode

Lonely everywhere I go

I am lonely, it’s my soul

Love retreats like waves at shore

It feels like everyone, I bore

I am the king of boredom

Love is a tourist to my kingdom

The story hasn’t changed in a minute

She comes, I feel, she leaves

And now, I go to him, but he can’t stay

Both sexes usher my love away

Surely, it’s just the story my mind tells?

I know it’s true

I just don’t see through

The brain is an opaque well

For I feel, so it must be

Or I don’t feel, so it must be?

What must be if certainty can’t be?

To be is to think what I feel ?

I am in love, I am in love with the wrong sex

There was no sex, but there is love

I feel love that sex hasn’t given yet

Love, I say, when I am but a pet

This is my reality steeped in certainty

Today is now

And a hug is no down payment or treaty

Tomorrow? I await your fealty

Adedolapo Olisa

I’m an aspiring story teller that is learning to let stories tell their own morals. You’ll find me where Faith-Tech-Art meet.