Adedolapo Olisa
1 min readAug 26, 2020

If I am being honest.

Her only crime

is that she is the boss

and I don’t like it.

I want my way,

as long as I am in it;

and it’s non negotiable.

Happy for all

Is bend the knee

Or go to war with me

This is the truth

I hate to admit

But growth requires it

So here I am

On my knees

Pleading to heal

From an injury

Self inflicted and deep

Yet she is to blame?

Why can’t I let

A woman lead me?

In every sphere

This is growth and I hate it

That I must respect

Authority I didn’t Choose

I can’t go to God

Cause He says no different

Bend to knee and serve

Authority is always His to give

Mine to accept

Regardless of the one who wields it

But why do I bow easily

To men from Italy

Really, just men tacitly

To a woman, my natural nerves

Become like cacti

Pricked so easily

Pricked not tickled

Nothing fancy here

I just need to see

That a woman is a leader

One I must help lead

Not lead, but help, to lead me, us, men.

If I am being honest,

My ego is sexist.

In truth, my ego is me.

Adedolapo Olisa

I’m an aspiring story teller that is learning to let stories tell their own morals. You’ll find me where Faith-Tech-Art meet.