Love needs not Beauty

Adedolapo Olisa
2 min readApr 26, 2022

--

A poem for a friend struggling to see that someone can choose her even if all she sees are her physical flaws.

Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

I define my attraction by perfection

The beauty I ought to behold

I hold captive to my flaws

If I don’t make dem jaws

Drop like it’s hot, feel like jalapeños

If I can’t see my niños

In my mind’s eye, looking like North West

If I cannot feel like bloom

Then God cannot do it

If God wont make East and West

Its not personal, He just doesnt waste His time?

He is self limiting

He won’t do this love thing for me

Because why?

It doesn't with sense, rhyme.

Why should God give me beauty

When I feel like her ugly twin

Never mind the lack of reality

Or the layers of tenderness

Etched within the being in me

The reality, my lies have been tools

They have shaped me into a cistern

Not for waste, I’m made to hold His joy

Men don’t want an hour glass

They want peace,

Men don’t see with a perfect lens

They see the expression of belief

They see what I see in me

Women say confidence is key

But they haunt after sex appeal

Make it make sense to me

No need, bro et boo

Because love has never been about sense

Love derives its essence from choice

Love prioritizes what God certifies

Except, what goes on in chemistry

Is blind to the naked eye

When God moves a soul,

He does so without your say so

So trust,

Trust not in your soul, or beau

Trust, in God to move the soul.

He makes good chemistry

And he don’t need physics

--

--

Adedolapo Olisa

I’m an aspiring story teller that is learning to let stories tell their own morals. You’ll find me where Faith-Tech-Art meet.