She is on top

Adedolapo Olisa
2 min readAug 27, 2021

--

Everyone expects me to open it.

Because it’s be untrue to be silent.

That moment with the bitter ooze of lemon.

When the love you once knew,

Vows till death to never be yours.

With Jesus the witness and the seal.

I promise to season my days.

With honesty of thoughts and pains.

So I cannot zip it.

Because it was on Saturday.

She said I do, she pinned it.

It’s funny because I didn’t cry.

Why should I?

I wasn’t invited to the burial,

I didn’t get to see the kiss that sealed it.

But it feels like a a betrayal.

She is happy and beautiful,

And I am indifferent, I can’t even hate.

Just here, and loving the heck out of empty moments.

Because it feels like all I got, left.

But momma used to say:

The way you feel is not the only true.

There is a big giant love underway.

She asked me to clear the way,

And i got the broom.

It’s funny because I have been on rampage

Trying to feel nothing

with butterflies and lilies in my womb

It’s the music of death playing upstairs

For what it’s worth, I’m still in her tune.

She is on top.

It’s a bed.

It’s a life.

It’s a future.

It’s a being.

I’m the louvre.

Love is baking.

I’m a witness.

--

--

Adedolapo Olisa

I’m an aspiring story teller that is learning to let stories tell their own morals. You’ll find me where Faith-Tech-Art meet.